US Premiere of ‘The Cranning’

August 18, 2009

I recently returned from New York where I was a guest of the Juilliard School of Music and their New Music Ensemble under the direction of Dr. Joel Sachs. Four members of the ensemble gave the US Premiere of my second String Quartet ‘The Cranning’ to a capacity audience of over 900 people at the Summergarden concert series at the Museum of Modern Art.

It was a fabulous event and I really enjoyed my time there. Many thanks to Dr. Sachs, the musicians and Melanie Monios and her staff at MOMA for making me so welcome and helping make the event one of the highlights of my career so far.

Also thanks to Allan Kozinn of the New York Times for covering the event
New York Times Review

and special thanks to Culture Ireland for providing me with funds for my travel expenses to New York 

Culture_Ireland_english Tag pantone

Thanks also to Eve O’Kelly and the staff at the Contemporary Music Centre for helping to secure the performance of the piece.

Here’s some photo’s relating to my trip.

 

The Summergarden Audience

The Summergarden Audience

 

Me and the Juilliard Ensemble Quartet

Me and the Juilliard Ensemble Quartet

 

 

 

 

The Quartet Perform

The Quartet Perform

Leave a Reply

